The 5 Languages of Love

Have you read this yet?5 love languages

The 5 Love Languages has been been around for  a while. Published back in 2007, it was written by Gary Chapman, an author, speaker, pastor and counselor.

The 5 languages are…

  • Words of affirmation
  • Quality time
  • Receiving gifts
  • Acts of service
  • Physical touch

In the book, he talks about “filling up the emotional tank” of your partner, which means showing them love in the language they understand. Why would you want to fill up your partner’s emotional tank? Well, not only because you love them and want them to be happy, but also because people who aren’t getting their needs met don’t feel loved or secure. When people aren’t getting their needs met, they’re more likely to act out, creating drama and havoc in their lives, as well as the lives of the people around them. Taking care of your partner’s needs protects you and your relationships and helps to build a happy life for everyone.

Gary Chapman

Gary Chapman

As Gary Chapman says “The payoff of speaking each other’s love language is a greater sense of connection. This translates into better communication, increased understanding, and, ultimately, improved romance.”

Having a strong, healthy relationship with the person you love is one of the keys to having a successful life and everybody wants that!

There’s a quiz you can take to find your love language here.

Getting our needs met is a constant responsibility. Like laundry, there may be days when we’re caught up, but we are never, ever truly done.

I hope you take a chance to think about what your love language is so that you can better live a happy, fulfilling life.

What’s your primary language of love, my friendly blog reader?

I’d love to read your thoughts in the comments below!

Have a great weekend!

xoxo Pam

p.s. I took the quiz and my number one love language is words of affirmation. “Actions don’t always speak louder than words. If this is your love language, unsolicited compliments mean the world to you. Hearing the words, “I love you,” are important – hearing the reasons behind that love sends your spirits skyward. Insults can leave you shattered and are not easily forgotten. Kind, encouraging, and positive words are truly life-giving.”

In response to the stormy seas of life, my husband Blake and I have created this website to be a Current of Inspiration, a wave of love and joy to wash away hate and fear. By posting every week, it's our commitment to making our world a better place. We hope you find it uplifting and will share it with your friends! Thanks for stopping by! xoxo

Posted in Feed your Soul, Personal Development Tagged with: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *